Salted Caramels

candy wrappedThis just in! Breaking news! These caramels are a.m.a.z.i.n.g., seriously. I did not think I would be posting four times in a row (blog whore) but I just had to share this recipe. I saw it pop up in my blog reader and thought it was the perfect gourmet gift for my new bosses, and I think I was right!

box tops

I wanted to beef up the presentation so, I found these suit case boxes at Target for $5 each, the chalk board tags, glitter tape and chip board letters were all in the dollar bin. Together they made and adorable gift box, if I do say so myself.

box

Now for the recipe…

Ps-I promise I will not be the next sister you hear from on this blog, but I would like to wish you all a very Merry Christmas!

Sea Salt Caramels
Serving: 125 pieces
Source:  Liddabit Sweets courtesy of O magazine via Jones Design Company

1 3/4 c sugar
1 can evaporated milk
3/4 c heavy cream
3/4 c light corn syrup
2 tbsp butter
1/4 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tbsp coarse sea salt
Oil or cooking spray

In a medium, heavy-bottomed saucepan, bring sugar, evaporated milk, and heavy cream to a boil over medium heat. Add corn syrup and continue cooking until mixture reaches 230°.

Add butter and vanilla; continue cooking, stirring constantly, until caramel reaches 240°. Remove from heat, stir in salt, and carefully pour into a lightly oiled 9″ x 13″ baking dish (parchment paper in the bottom of the pan is helpful).

Let cool at least 1 hour. Invert onto a cutting board covered with waxed or parchment paper and cut into 1-inch pieces with a sharp, lightly oiled knife. Caramels can be wrapped in waxed or parchment paper or cellophane. (To serve candy-store style, wrap individual pieces in parchment paper and secure the ends with a simple twist.) Store airtight at cool room temperature (around 65°) or in the refrigerator; will keep up to 3 weeks.

One response to “Salted Caramels

  1. I made caramels for a magazine shoot for the first time in early December and they were AMAZING, putting some sea salt with them sounds incredible. I’ll have to make these when your parents come to visit, hopefully soon (not sure I can wait too long to taste these!)

Leave a Reply

