Thanksgiving Table Scape

I am getting this post up just in the nick of time! For the past 4 years P and I have hosted Thanksgiving at our house. Truth be told we stole the holiday after moving to the suburbs so that we would not have to head to 3-4 different houses but rather could enjoy the holiday at our own home. I have to say that it has worked out pretty well for us.

Dinning Room Tday

This year I decided to set up a table scape and add some decoration to the dinning room. This is my favorite holiday of the year (no pressure of gift giving, it’s all about the food) and I had a great time getting this space festive.

Tday Center Piece

The center piece is a box that I made from cedar fencing and painted on our last name and year we were married. Typically it is filled with silk hydrangias so I added mini white pumpkins, faux leaves and faux mini apples to play up the fall/harvest theme.

Tday Place Setting

For each place setting I simply tied the napkin and utensiles with some twine and added an apple and leaf to the grouping. I used natural fiber place matts (purchased from Ikea a few years ago) and a golden colored table runner (from Target) to finish up the table.

Tday Cabinet

As for my china hutch I just pulled pieces from throughout the house that were brown, green, red or gold in color to add warmth to my typically white decor. With $1.50 worth of burlap, twine and a sharpie I made a banner that says “thankful” (which is what this holiday is all about).

Tday Table

Now on to the best part… the food. I know if you are cooking your menu has been set for weeks and you have probably even begun to prep for the big day, but I wanted to share our menu for documentation purposes and perhaps ideas for the future.

Alton Brown’s Classic Brined and Roasted Turkey
Orange Cranberry Sauce
Honey Yeast Rolls
Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Walnuts, Cranberries and Bluecheese
Mashed Potatoes
Smoky Bacon Biscut Dressing 
Maple Pumpkin Pie with Salted Carmel Pecans

For other Thanksgiving menu ideas you can check out my food blog.

I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving filled with family, football, friends and good food!

One response to “Thanksgiving Table Scape

Leave a Reply

