Guest Post: The Poor Girl’s Stuffed Pork Chop

Today we have a guest post from one of other sisters… my sister in law. She is one of the few people I know that loves food and cooking as much as I do. Heck, she has made a career out of it by working in the catering and event planning field. I am so lucky to call her family- now I just need to get her to make me some of these stuffed pork chops!

The Poor Girl’s Stuffed Pork Chop

6

I have never been one to follow a recipe.  Maybe it is because I am brilliant and creative.  Maybe it is because I am a natural in the kitchen….Or, most likely, it is because I never have the right ingredients anyway. 

I also don’t really like measuring ingredients.   This post is going to be quite the challenge for me to write, and likely for you to read.  I promise I will try to be as specific as possible…but let’s just say that a handful is about a ¼ cup and a little bit is like a tablespoon, or something. 

While grocery shopping this week, I saw thinly sliced boneless pork chops for $3.75.  What an amazing deal for this financially challenged couple!  If I can feed us both dinner for under $10, then I am a happy girl.  Being with someone who likes to have after-work snacks, pre-dinner snacks, dinner, dessert, supper, and elevenses tends to mean that groceries don’t last long and dinner really needs to be cheap!

****Side note: If you aren’t financially challenged, then buy normal pork chops.  It will make this whole process much easier for you! ****

Anywho, here is my ‘recipe’

The stuffing:

  • ¾ cup Stove Top stuffing mix
  • A handful of frozen peas
  • ½ cup chopped mushrooms
  • ½ can cream of chicken soup
  • A bit of sour cream (this means more than a tablespoon)
  • Salt and pepper

1 

Cut the chops in half, but leave the halves connected.  Again, this will be easier if you get regular sized chops.

 2

Lovely.

Fill each chops with about two spoons of stuffing and place in the slower-cooker.  The oven works as well, but I have to go back to work for four hours this afternoon.  Therefore, the slow cooker will be my best friend.

 3

I added a little bit of chicken broth to the bottom of the pan.  I’m not sure if this is necessary, but I am opposed to cooking items dry in the slow cooker.  I plan on having these on low for about 5 hours.

 4

The sauce:

  • 1 can chicken broth
  • A handful of sautéed mushrooms
  • Butter (to sauté the mushrooms)
  • ¼ cup half and half (if you’re poor, feel free to ‘borrow’ creamer from your place of work…of course I didn’t do this, but some people may.)
  • 2 little bits of Dijon
  • A bit of flour.  I don’t know if this is necessary, but I am absolutely convinced that no sauce will ever thicken without it. 

 5

One response to “Guest Post: The Poor Girl’s Stuffed Pork Chop

Leave a Reply

